Skip to the content

Gateway Project

The Gateway card is an agreement to provide public library service to residents in Central Arkansas without charging a non-resident fee. The program covers residents in the following counties in Arkansas:

  • Arkansas
  • Bradley
  • Chicot
  • Clark
  • Cleveland
  • Conway
  • Dallas
  • Desha
  • Drew
  • Faulkner
  • Garland
  • Grant
  • Hot Springs
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Lincoln
  • Lonoke
  • Montgomery
  • Perry
  • Pike
  • Polk
  • Pope
  • Prairie
  • Saline
  • Van Buren
  • White

The program started in 1995 as a successful federal government grant. Library patrons who are "Gateway" cardholders have reciprocal borrowing privileges in approximately 49 libraries in an 18 county service area. This allows access to a collection of over 1.5 million items.

Cardholders must have a current library card from their home library and be at least 14 years of age. They must apply for the "Gateway" card at the home library in the county where they reside, then bring their Gateway card to any PBJCLS library to receive a PBJCLS card. Cards must be renewed each year at the home library.

To download a brochure, click here